Bot VI Concept Art

BOT VI Concept Art

1The fact of the matter is, long before 3D Studio Max, Maya, Cinema 4d or Zbrush…even before Photoshop there was me and my pencil. I came from a traditional fanboy back ground of paper and pencil. I started of tracing and then copying and then finally learning to draw and making some of my own characters (even though they all looked like Wolverine or Red Sonja). But that was a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away. The 80’s in West Covina, anyway flash forward  20 years and I start to get “digi” with it using scanners and photoshop.

Bot 6 Pencil og

click to enlarge, then click again to enlarge more

In this day and age it is very rare that I ever even pull out a paper and pencil, I mean I’ll do it from time to time just to remind myself that I used to actually draw. I guess since I have that background in traditional mediums like paper and pencil and since I sort of already know “ish” what I want, I never do concept art or turn around when I do any digital art. I mean I HAD to do it in college because it was part of the assignment but I wasn’t ever any good at it cuz I want “that” kind of artist.  I was a feel good artist that just did whatever I wanted.

In the recent past I’ve noticed that all the real good character artists or sculptors (traditional and digital) work from concept art provided from a concept artist OR they generated it themselves. I’ve seen a lot of techniques on how to generate concept art and THIS is my favorite way of getting thumbnails and iterations out of my head an onto paper.  I just draw shapes on paper and then drop them into photoshop, where all I have to do is work on one half and them mirror the one half over to make a silhouette.
From there I can do different iterations fast…well fast for me. I still get caught up in little detail but hey, I’m working on it! I’m actually pretty slow for a guy named Jet.
Anyway, I will be picking one of these and then hopefully rock it in 3D (C4D or Zbrush…MAYBE I’ll learn a lil Maya along the way. After all of that who knows…maybe I’ll even 3D print it, but lets not get a head of myself! LOL

BOT VI CONCEPT ART

Bot Grid

click to enlarge, then click again to enlarge more

TOOLS
Photoshop CC 2015

CLOSING THOUGHTS
I loved doing this I really like all the lil bullshit that gets in the way and I LOVE trying to see how many different variations on a theme that I can come up with. I like how I can see the thing morph and take on a life of it’s own. I like the simplicity of the primitive shapes and how GRAPHIC it is. I like the play of the silhouette and how just a line of white changes the WHOLE feel of the concept art. I have one more iteration to do I may as well add some grayscale before I pick one to rock in 3D. Stay tuned!

“ONE STOP CHOP SHOP”


What up! Jet Olaño here, check it out…this is my “Online Art Journal”,  which is just a cool way of saying my “lame ass art blog”. All comments and critiques are welcome as long as they are constructive, any trolling will be deleted and I will punch you in your spleen through the internet.  Thanks for stopping by and thanks for shopping at your “One Stop Chop Shop!” Check out my professional portfolio at: Check out my Culture Website: AlienCyborgs.com “To have something you’ve never had you have to be willing to do something you’ve never done.” 

Leave a Reply

