The Bride of Frankenstien 1

The Bride of Frankenstien

So, I finally finished my first attempt at a portrait…and let me tell you, I am not very happy with it. Don’t get my wrong, it’s a finished piece and that is a really satisfying feeling. This piece has a foreground and a background, that is a rarity for me. If you don’t believe it, look over my other postings.

I have learned so much about trying to render a high contrast “portrait”.

Here are a few of the things I learned:
– Always measure your subject matter to get the position and proportions correct.
– You can never go too light or too dark…its what gives the contrast.
– Do not over work the mid tones.

TIL DEATH DO US PART

I am very excited to take what I’ve learned and apply it to the next portrait. I don’t plan on moving on to other subject just yet, I think I’m somewhat married to the idea of doing a series of the “Bride of Frankenstein” portraits. There are very few woman in the Universal Studios’ Monster world and even less with such a stunning appearance as Elsa Lanchester as the Bride. I must admit I am very taken with her features and the way the images were captured with such a high contrast. I dunno, there is something so interesting about the combination of her face shape coupled with Jack Pierce’s make up that causes me stare at her image for long periods at a time.

At any rate, stay tuned…there will be more Bride on the way. I hope the next rendering turns out a lot better.

“ONE STOP CHOP SHOP”


What up! Jet Olaño here, check it out…this is my “Online Art Journal”,  which is just a cool way of saying my “lame ass art blog”. All comments and critiques are welcome as long as they are constructive, any trolling will be deleted and I will punch you in your spleen through the internet.  Thanks for stopping by and thanks for shopping at your “One Stop Chop Shop!” Check out my professional portfolio at: Check out my Culture Website: AlienCyborgs.com “To have something you’ve never had you have to be willing to do something you’ve never done.” 

Leave a Reply

