Digital Sculpting a female bust in Zbrush pt.1

Digital Sculpting a female bust in Zbrush pt.1
Female Bust

StorY

hologram_LeiaIt’s no secret that Zbrush is my favorite software, with Cinema4d coming in a very close 2nd. I love working in Zbrush and I will tell you why: When I was a teen ager I would draw in a “Black Book” with a #2 graphite pencil or a .05 technical pencil for hours at a time. I would draw super heroes and scantly clad big tittied chicks, with swords and dragons for hours dreaming of becoming a comic book artist. I even had a silly little day dream that when I was done with my drawing all I would have to do was press the button on my technical pencil and my drawing would pop up off the page and do a “turn around”. Imagine a small hologram in the middle of my black book…sorta like Princess Leia in Episode IV, you get the picture.

Flash forward 20 years, I start to dabble a little 3D Max and Maya trying to make characters…which, at the time was one of the hardest thing to do in any 3D package. Sure these 3D softwares were great at making “Hard Surface” models with ease, maybe because they were all born from some ancient CAD program but not so much with the organic character stuff. Barring Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within I wasn’t all that impressed with 3D characters. I had seen a few pics of what Pixologics Zbrush could do but it wasn’t for another 3-4 years til I really started to pay attention.

To make a long story short, when I finally used Zbrush in college I feel in love.  It took me back to my childhood, my day dreams would now become a reality. I had a new sketch book in the form of a laptop and wacom pad! Once I got used the clunky user interface and unfamiliar way of navigating the models, I could see my characters come to life and do a turn around right in front of my eyes. It was a dream come true. *see below


Jump to today, life gets in the way and there are way too many things that I want to do digitally and progress is slow going when you are a “light” and not a “laser”. I happen to be a light…I think it’s a character flaw but oh, well. I do tutorials to keep my claws sharp and learn some new techniques. This is the latest that I’m working on from the Gumroad collection of tutorials. This is titled “Intro to ZBrush and Character Design” by Gumroad Artist Matt Thorup. I don’t usually post up work from tutorials but since I’m just using this as a loose guide line and not a recipe I thought, “What the hell”. This tut will help me focus on a toony type of pin up girl that I will have VERY limited animation. I plan on my finished project looking NOTHING like the one that they posted. I will post some more pics as I keep going.

GALLERY

TOOLS

ZBrush 4r6

CLOSING THOUGHTS

In a perfect world all I would do is ZBrush…well, not ALL but I would spend a vast majority of my time in Zbrush. Then of course, some other 3D package to animate my character…then maybe Iclone to do some lip sync….then color correct in After Effects…then finally throw it all together in Final Cut! Oh wait, I can’t forget the audio V.O and Sound design….sigh. Not enough time.

 

“ONE STOP CHOP SHOP”


What up! Jet Olaño here, check it out…this is my “Online Art Journal”,  which is just a cool way of saying my “lame ass art blog”. All comments and critiques are welcome as long as they are constructive, any trolling will be deleted and I will punch you in your spleen through the internet.  Thanks for stopping by and thanks for shopping at your “One Stop Chop Shop!” Check out my professional portfolio at: Check out my Culture Website: AlienCyborgs.com “To have something you’ve never had you have to be willing to do something you’ve never done.” 

One thought on “Digital Sculpting a female bust in Zbrush pt.1

Leave a Reply

