Confessions of frustrated 3D Printer : EUREKA! I think.

3D PRINTER TUNE UP

3dmon

STORY: I was at “Designer Con 2014” in Pasadena Ca. this past weekend and while I was browsing  around looking for somethin cool, I decided to stop off at the CoKreeate booth. The guys over at CoKreeate do on site 3D scanning and personal printing, something that I think will catch on but more on them in a different post on Alien Cyborgs. While I was at their booth I saw that they had a Bukito 3D printer from Pasadena based company Deezmaker. The Bukito is the little brother of the BukoBot v2 Vanilla, it is smaller, sturdier and very portable. In fact, you can carry it around and move it WHILE it is printing. Really?! What the hell… why did I get the larger printer again? Oh yeah, for it’s larger print volume and the heated bed…that I dont use anyway cuz for now I only ever print in PLA. Whatever <smh>  Anyway, I also noticed that they were printing a downloaded Thingiverse file of a Bulbasaur in blue PLA.

IMG_9711-928x640Of course I would notice this because A) I’m obsessed with 3D printing and 2) I am very familiar with the Deezmaker 3D printers because not only do we have one but I spend whatever time I can at Deezmaker bugging the hell out of the guys who work there. I asked Larry, the CEO of CoKreeate if I could see one of the Bulbasaur prints. He handed me one of the many 5 in x 5 in Bulbasaur “toys” sitting on the desk. After a very close up and hands on inspection of the toy, I was immediately deflated. I was deflated because after months of owning a Bukobot and months of unsatisfactory prints, I could not print anything as “perfect” as these Bulbasaurs.

This Balbasaurs pictured below is a teeny tiny versions of the ones I was describing. IMG_20141112_192723700_HDR

This was the last straw!!!  I made up my mind to take my bot in to Deezmaker and get to the bottom of this! Recently, I had succumbed to the fact that maybe 3D prints werent supposed to be “perfect” and that it was all in achieved with “Post Processing”. I undertand that this is rapid prototyping and that “perfect” is a subjective term, so maybe my expectations were too high. Believing that false truth,  I was ok with fact that none and I mean NONE of my prints didn’t come out right.

Deezmaker Hacker SpaceSo off to Deezmaker I went…again. Let me take a moment to clarify something. ALL OF THE ISSUES I HAD WERE DUE TO USER ERROR. That’s right, every thing that was wrong was my fault. I built the bot from the ground up with the help of my buddy Isacc Gelman, we both purchased our Bukobots the same week and carved out some time on a summer weekend to build out bots. We followed all the instructions step by step and it took 12 hours to complete the build. Never having done this before I thought that we did a pretty good job of it but of course not having anything to compare it too…I was sorely mistaken.
p2

Enter “Metal”…

I walked into Deezmaker one Tuesday unannounced and was greeted by Metal “Yaul” Hayes, one of the resident tech wizards in the shop. He knows that when he sees me darkening their doorway…it’s never just to say “hi” and in the usual fashion. I wasn’t there just to say hi. I explained to Metal what I saw at Designer Con and what the guys over at Cokreeate were doing with their Bukito. He could tell I was almost beat and asked me if I brought my machine or a test print. I said,  “No, I just wanted to give you a heads up.” He then told me to come in and bring my machine and that we would finally get to the bottom of this and get me going.

To make a long story short…I came in on a Thursday and spent the ENTIRE day at Deezmakers. Metal and I tuned up the bot making it print worthy, the machine was plauged with a LOT of small things that compounded and compounded resulting in less than satisfactory prints.  On TOP of all of that, Metal gave me a primer and helped me understand some of the ins and outs of slicing and controlling the bot with Cura and Repetier Host.

FINALLY… I achieved some pretty amazing prints. These Totodiles and Bulbasaurs are just under 1 inch tall! I would score these lil guys 8.9 out of 10. I cant wait to print something very soon! ( I only say an 8.9 and not a 9 or higher cuz there are a few little over hangs, even without the over hangs I would have only rated it a 9.5 – 9.75…never a 10. 10 is perfection and I do not believe that any 3D printer can achieve a 10…yet)

IMG_20141113_103819073_HDREUREKA, a decent print!


TOOLS
To slice: Cura
To control the printer: Repetier Host
To Print: Deezmaker Bukobot v2 Vanilla using Gray PLA

CLOSING THOUGHTS:  There are a few things more that I need to know about how to achieve PERFECT prints…and by “few more things” I mean a HELL OF A LOT of things. I need to keep the bot tuned and learn all the ins and outs of the softwares. But like Metal says: “It’s all about test cases”.

The guys over at DEEZMAKER earn a 110% for having the most AMAZING cutomer service I’ve ever received! I oughta know, I ‘ve been a Customer Service Rep and even I didnt give this kind of service.

“ONE STOP CHOP SHOP”


What up! Jet Olaño here, check it out…this is my “Online Art Journal”,  which is just a cool way of saying my “lame ass art blog”. All comments and critiques are welcome as long as they are constructive, any trolling will be deleted and I will punch you in your spleen through the internet.  Thanks for stopping by and thanks for shopping at your “One Stop Chop Shop!” Check out my professional portfolio at: Check out my Culture Website: AlienCyborgs.com “To have something you’ve never had you have to be willing to do something you’ve never done.” 

Leave a Reply

