Super Sculpey! Work In Progress

SUPER SCULPEY?!
sculpey

STORY: Super Sculpey? Um…if it’s so super, then where is the cape? Ok..I LOVE sculpting. Plain and simple. I may not be great at it but I still love doing it, I actually think I’m pretty “ok” at it and by “pretty ok” I mean, I know the basics of sculpting and anatomy and thats IT. Just dont judge me by the art you see in this post, like the title warns…this is a Work In Progress. I would love to get a tattoo, that either reads “W.I.P” or “Work In Progress”, it would be totally fitting. Then upon my death my head stone would read “Finish”.  Anyway, I first starting sculpting at Relic’s house over 20 years ago, he had some sculpey laying around from a school project that he had just finish. I picked some up and made a skull ashtray. Cliche and boring I know but it wasnt too bad for the first time. The next piece I did was a “Veiled Weeper” very similar…sorta, not really but kinda to the one pictured below.
WeeperI hadnt really touched sculpting again until I got to college and without skipping a beat I picked it right back up. I loved sculpting with Super Sculpey cus it wont get hard til you “bake” it in the oven, which means that I can leave it and get back to it when the muses descend…or I get tired of mucking around digitally on my lappy.

I used Styrofoam as a make shift armature…speaking armature, I really should be embarrassed for the lack of a decent aramature OR a base!!! Oh, well… <shrugs> Gimme a week or so and I’ll finish this first one, then who knows…I might make another “Veiled Weeper” to replace the one I lost so many years ago.

s3

TOOLS: Super Sculpey, styrofoam, X-acto knife, Elmer’s glue and Super glues…and of course the kit of sulpting tools I got for $3

s1         s2

CLOSING THOUGHTS: “Print your money by doing what you love.”

“ONE STOP CHOP SHOP”


What up! Jet Olaño here, check it out…this is my “Online Art Journal”,  which is just a cool way of saying my “lame ass art blog”. All comments and critiques are welcome as long as they are constructive, any trolling will be deleted and I will punch you in your spleen through the internet.  Thanks for stopping by and thanks for shopping at your “One Stop Chop Shop!”

Check out my professional portfolio at:
Check out my Culture Website: AlienCyborgs.com

“To have something you’ve never had you have to be willing to do something you’ve never done.” 

Print your money Jet.

Leave a Reply

