Pistol Whip Prototype v1: Post Process

ROBITS: PISTOL WHIP PROTOTYPE v1
“post Production”
Pistol Whip Prototype v1

1Story: Ok, so if you tuned in my page within the last 3 months or so you would know that we got a 3D printer and if you’ve tuned into my page you would also know that I do some digital 3D or CGI…again, no big surprise. What might come as a surprise is that I am starting to combine the two to start to create some artwork. It’s no secret that I want to make shit that you can touch…I don’t mean actual feces, but by “shit” I meant “art”. Well, sometimes my art comes out like feces but even if it did I would still post it here so you could see that shit. In any case…it’s important to me that I make art that is tangible, that can be held in your hand and admired! Well, held in your at the very least.

Pistol Whip broke 1

The big end goal is: I want to make Cosplay Armor, but like everything else I do I would like to start off small. So, whats the next best thing to making a full sized Iron Man Mark 4 suit? Why making little toy robots…DUH!

Let’s see, at this point I’ve already printed the bot and let me tell you, it was a fucking nightmare. I tried to print the bot twice that day at two different sizes and they both came out as big fat “fails”. This  print featured in this blog started out perfect until about 85% and then out of no where the printer decided to crap out for the next 10% of the print. To add insult to injury the printer “righted” itself  for the last 5% of the print resulting in barrel being printed crooked, like a lightening bolt. WTF?! Pardon the colorful language but seeing as it is my art journal I feel the need to curse cus writing this brings me right back to the anxiety and anger of that day!

Pistol Whip Birth1

Birth of a bot

Anyway, what was i to do? Despite the barrel on this otherwise fine print, I decided to take some much needed  time away from printing to funnel my mounting frustrations and try my hand at the “Post Process” side of the 3D manufacturing pipeline. By “Post Process” I mean the part that begins the hands on I.R.L part. [*note – I.R.L stands for “In Real Life”, it is a phrase we used to say when gaming. example: “When I play Lineage II in a dark elf Spell Howler but I.R.L I ‘m a G.M for NCSoft ” ] that last part really happened. But I digress, the Post Process is the hands in part where a lot  of sanding, filling, prime ring, wet sanding mold making, replication, painting and finally decal placement occurs.. I’m not there just yet, I’m barely at the sanding and filling part but you can be sure that when I get there I will post it…and e Rey step in between for that matter.

image

Some High Tech Tools of the trade.

Tools: Bukobot Vanilla v.8 Single Extruder 3D Printer and various files: tapered flat, angled and tapered round. Sand paper and “Super Glue” to mend broken parts on the legs and to fill some gaps and crevices.

Closing Thoughts: I was pretty mad and my ego was bruised and deflated due to the print failures and the inability to get my ABS prints to stick to the print bed. I will be trying 3D Juice to help get my ABS prints to stick the the print bed. In any case, I will be writing again soon and posting more pics. Check out some of the photos below in the gallery!  GO MAKE SOMETHING!

*Post Script – I want to give a mad shout out to my good friend and art mentor Edward Martinez from Vyral Media for pulling me outta my slump that night and taking me to Daikokuya for some really kick ass ramen. That shit really lifted my spirits. Thanks homie. 

GALLERY

 “ONE STOP CHOP SHOP”


What up! Jet Olaño here, check it out…this is my “Online Art Journal”,  which is just a cool way of saying my “lame ass art blog”. All comments and critiques are welcome as long as they are constructive, any trolling will be deleted and I will punch you in your spleen through the internet.  Thanks for stopping by and thanks for shopping at your “One Stop Chop Shop!”

Check out my professional portfolio at:
Check out my Culture Website: AlienCyborgs.com

“To have something you’ve never had you have to be willing to do something you’ve never done.” 

Leave a Reply

