Code Name: Pistol Whipped

ROBiTS Work In Progress

Robit_GunBot1

1STORY: Whats the point of having a 3d printer if youre not gonna print robots right?! Unfortunately there is no robot button on the “Print Bot”, so you have to design it first. I sat behind my Mac and fired up Cinema 4D and started to “sketch” out some designs.  I wanted it to be small, cute and have the capability for destruction! So, I came up with this little Gun Bot and gave him a code name.

Robit_GunBot3
DETAILS

Code Name: Pistol Whip
Size: h: 7.5″ w: 11″ d: 4″
Armament:
– Bot is equipped with a with a Rail Gun mounted on a 360 degree swiveling turret.
– Magnetic Mega Pincers for attracting, grabbing and crushing
– Oversized Mobile Platforms for a very solid base.
– Last but not least it is equipped a large chest canon to annihilate all enemies.

Robit_GunBot2

TOOLS: I did not do any pencil sketches because I knew roughly what I wanted, so I jumped straight into Cinema 4D r16 to do the deed. I did low poly box modeling and kicked out an .stl file. I rendered the concept art with Nick Campbell’s Grayscale Gorilla Light Kit Pro for Global Illumination to get some decent lighting with just one touch. (plug plug) I added some Ambient Occlusion to rock the shadows and make it pop. Of course I used Photoshop to do the graphics, oddly enough I did not do any color correction…I dunno why. I guess I felt that the images were good enough as is. Thanks Nick!

Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 4.18.07 AM

Cinema 4D to make Robits

To slice up the .stl files is used CURA, the default slicing engine brought to us by the guys over at Ultimaker. I used the profiles for print out PLA plastic provided by the awesome guys over at Deezmakers in Pasadena.

Robits_Gunbot Cura

Parts laid out in Cura

CLOSING THOUGHTS: I saved out the G-code to print at a later date. I will print this out tomorrow, keep your fingers crossed…let’s hope the “Maker Gods” will smile upon us and let our ideas come to fruition!

 GO MAKE SOMETHING!

“ONE STOP CHOP SHOP”


What up! Jet Olaño here, check it out…this is my “Online Art Journal”,  which is just a cool way of saying my “lame ass art blog”. All comments and critiques are welcome as long as they are constructive, any trolling will be deleted and I will punch you in your spleen through the internet.  Thanks for stopping by and thanks for shopping at your “One Stop Chop Shop!”

Check out my professional portfolio at:
Check out my Culture Website: AlienCyborgs.com

“To have something you’ve never had you have to be willing to do something you’ve never done.” 

Leave a Reply

